Council and board


According to DCA's statutes (rev. 2014) Art. 9, "DanChurchAid shall be governed by the Council, which shall be the supreme governing body of the organisation.

The Council elects 7 members of the Board, which shall undertake ongoing political and financial management and be responsible to the Council in that respect".

Art. 10 -17 establishes the composition of members of the Council, principles for election, voting and appointment of members and chairmanship, responsibilities of the Council and the Board, meeting frequency etc.


The Board is responsible for the political management of the organization in close cooperation with the operational Senior Management of DanChurchAid.

Board members are also members of the Council, cf. §  10, stk. 16.

Søren Christian Madsen, chair
Managing Director of JPS Clemens

Solvej Gasseholm Bang, vice-chair
Project Manager, deputy at Nørre Nissum Efterskole (independent boarding school)

Kirsten Smedegaard Andersen, treasurer
Board member of United World Colleges, Danes Worldwide and Danish Center for Asthmatic Children

Birthe Juel Christensen, DCA employee representative
Senior Consultant, Popular and Church Relations, DanChurchAid

Henning Thomsen
Chief consultant, Rambøll Management

Jesper Lindholm
Lecturer at the Department of Law at Aalborg University, member of The Danish Refugee Appelas Board, Vice-chair the Board of The Danish Institute of Human Rights

Mogens Mogensen
Chairman of The Council on International Relations of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark, Freelance consultant

Amalie Cordes
Political Science student at University of Copenhagen
Chair of DCA Youth

Anne Mette Kjær
Associate Professor  
Department of Political Science, University of Aarhus